The long-awaited bad fashion blog!

December 14, 2008

When I moved to NYC about a year and a half ago, I knew I had found my home.  I absolutely love it here.  One thing did surprise me, however:  The abundance of absolutely horrendous outfits.  Now I know that there are days when fashion is at the bottom of one’s priorities – I don’t expect people to be perfectly put together every day of the week.  I know I’m not.  But there is an enormous difference between a lackluster ensemble and one that assaults my senses with its sheer ridiculousness.  Only the latter will be featured on this blog 🙂

I actually started gathering material for this blog about a week after I moved here, when I was at the bar with my friend, and saw something inexplicable on a girl’s head (see my first photo post).  I couldn’t resist, and snapped a picture, using my friend as a decoy.  Once I got a few more, I started posting my bad fashion pics on facebook, much to the delight of my friends.  However, I didn’t realize how popular my album had become until I received a spontaneous round of applause from some upperclass students (most of whom I barely knew) in the hallways of my law school.  They urged me to start a website, but I was too busy trying to survive 1L year. 

Since then, I have discovered similar websites, like streetboners.com, and the Do’s and Don’ts of ViceMag.com.   They are both amusing (though Vice is past its prime), but New York has more than enough bad fashion to go around.  I hope to showcase some of it here, and I look forward to your comments on each and every ridiculous get up 😀

Finally, the name of this blog comes from a phrase my friends and I frequently used to point out a questionable outfit.  It is also the title of my original facebook album.  Moreover, some reflection might have prevented these fashion travesties from happening in the first place lol.

Leave a Reply

